Recycle: Coin Purse from Tetra Pack

Coin_Purse_Announcement

We are part of a throw-away-society, and I often feel guilty to produce too much waste. I do my best to reduce it (e.g., by bringing my backpack and not taking plastic bags when shopping). Accordingly, I am a big fan of recycle projects. Recently, I stumbled across HubPages and found a detailed step-by-step manual on how to make a coin purse from an used tetra pack.

purse_full

All you need is an empty tetra pack (the more colourful the better), some tape (I used red and green isolation tape), and a stapler in working condition. Finally and in order to close the purse, the authors recommend to use self-adhesive Velcro (hook and loop tape). Instead I used KAMsnaps and are more than happy with this closing mechanism.

Neilson_coin_purse

1-L-packs give thinner purses (see left purse in the picture below) while 2-L-packs give thicker ones (see right purse in the picture below).thinvsthick

We do not drink a lot of juice at home and buy milk in bags, which is why my dear colleagues at work provided me with different tetra pack boxes. Thank you, guys! I like the cyan Neilson milk version best. Neilson tetra packs are also available in white, red, and purple. Not hard to imagine how cute versions of these would look like! As soon as I get my hands on them, I will definitely make them. 😉

various_coin_purse

One purse can be finished in about 30 min. I made several and we sold them at the Winterfair at my son’s childcare center. The kids loved them! What about you? Are you going to try them?

Please click here and leave a comment… Ich freue mich auch sehr über Kommentare auf Deutsch. 🙂

I am linking this to Kiddikram, Made4BoysThreading My Way, and Talented Tuesday.

35 thoughts on “Recycle: Coin Purse from Tetra Pack

  1. Brilliant! We make these wallets in Tooting using velcro but the Kamsnaps look like a much neater and longer lasting solution. So I will be getting some.
    Maybe in the future Kamsaps could be made using recycled plastics for a really low carbon money holding solution!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We might in future. We are currently busy with furniture projects on order, but we were thinking these are great gift ideas for the girls in the family because they really are cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Diese Geldbörsen sehen sehr gut aus. Verleitet zum Nachmachen. Ich hab schon diverses Verpackungsmaterial versucht zu verarbeiten, aber noch nie Tetra-Pak.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Vielen Dank fürs Vorbeischauen und den netten Kommentar. Es macht wirklich Spass, mit Tetra-Pack zu arbeiten; v.a. wenn die Behälter so schön bunt sind. Dieses Tutorial ist auf jeden Fall einen Versuch wert. 🙂 Viele liebe Grüsse in die Heimat, Jana

    Like

  5. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award | Me & My Veritas

Leave a Reply

