Pimp My Sweatshirt: Mr. Fox — Front Appliqué

Collage2

You simply can’t go wrong with foxes!!! Right? 🙂 Remember that I had pimped one of my son’s shirts back in fall 2014 and made it a Rock(et) Star Shirt? At that time we also agreed on a fox that I had drawn earlier for him (on paper initially). For this so-called Mr. Fox Shirt, I appliquéd a large felt fox onto the front and stencilled smaller foxes in a repetitive pattern onto the back. One of them—the polar fox—is very special, as is my son. 😉 I especially love how I mastered to combine two techniques here: sewing appliqués and stencilling. Did you also notice that the fox at the front is shown from the front, while the foxes at the back are shown from behind…? Anyway, when I had the fox appliqué ready (steps 1 to 3), work got very busy, and I couldn’t properly continue with the shirt. However, every now and then my son wanted to talk to and play with the fox. When I finally found time to finish the shirt, he was very pleased and proud. It doesn’t take much to make a mum happy… 🙂

Here is what I did in two parts:

PART 1 – Fox appliqué on the front (see below)

PART 2 – Stencilled foxes on the back (see Part 2; coming soon)

List of Materials:

  1. Plain sweatshirt (this time I bought one)
  2. Felt (red, white, black)
  3. Pin needles
  4. Standard and embroidery scissors
  5. White thread
  6. Black embroidery thread and embroidery needle
  7. This Fox Appliqué Pattern
  8. Heat ‘N Bond or other iron-on adhesive
  9. Iron
  10. Sewing machine

STEP 1: Print and cut the pattern. Iron the sweatshirt.

CutFelt

STEP 2: Transfer the patterns onto felt. Usually, I stick a pattern onto felt using pin needles. Cut around the shapes. You will need red felt for the body, black felt for the eyes and the nose, and white felt for the belly, the cheeks, the tip of the tail, and the tips of the ears.

STEP 3: Pin all body parts in place…

AssembleFelt

 …and sew them on either manually (eyes, nose) or using a sewing machine (everything else). I used white standard thread for white parts and black embroidery thread for the black parts. I did the black parts by hand and with embroidery thread to give them a bit more structure.

SewOnFelt2

STEP 4: Transfer the fox pattern (the overall shape) onto iron-on adhesive (rough side faces up) and cut it. You will end up with one piece.

Note: Iron-on adhesive is used here to prevent the finished appliqué from moving while sewing it on. In addition, it gives an appliqué more strength. It basically has two sticky sides: one is exposed (rough side) and the other is covered by a thin foil. The adhesive is first ironed onto fabric 1 (rough side shows to wrong side of fabric 1). After cooling down the protecting cover foil is removed (fingernails welcome!) and ironed onto fabric 2 (fabric-free side shows to wrong side of fabric 2).

PrepareHeatNBond

STEP 5: Iron the fox onto the iron-on adhesive shape. Wait until the whole assembly has cooled down in order to…

Iron

 …remove any overlaps of the adhesive using an embroidery scissor. See the overlaps in the picture (where the tip of the scissors is pointing at)? Carefully remove these.

CutOverhangs

STEP 6: Peel off the foil at the back and place everything onto your sweatshirt. Iron on.

PeelOffFoil

Step 7: Grab some white thread and your sewing machine in order to sew on the appliqué. 🙂 I used a straight stitch. Go carefully around the body. Like I did with the Rock(et) Star Appliqué, do not cut the threads but take a hand needle and sew them towards the back of the sweatshirt. Secure them there by making a few knots. This gives the front a neat appearance and makes the appliqué more robust.

SewOn

And TADAA! The front part done. 🙂

Front

The second part of this post is coming soon. If you like what you see on this site and have not followed this blog yet or liked Me & My Veritas on Facebook, please do it right away. Your support is highly appreciated!

Please click here and leave a comment… Ich freue mich auch sehr über Kommentare auf Deutsch. 🙂

27 thoughts on “Pimp My Sweatshirt: Mr. Fox — Front Appliqué

  1. Thank you so much for stopping by and your kind comment! 🙂 It will be so much fun with your boys. Any idea how you are going to do it? Everything identical but twice or different colours or totally different appliqués? Have a lovely day!

    Like

  2. Oh what a lovely happy fox! I am sure this is a lovely jumper to wear! You are a very creative lady Janna.

    Would love the fox template! I have a cushion in mind that would be really fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi, Susanna! That’s too kind of you to say! 🙂 🙂 🙂 Just go ahead and take the fox with you. I’m sure he loves to go on a cushion adventure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awwww, that’s such a sweet comment! Thank you very much! According to the experience with my son, it’s a lot of fun to wear him. He’s (the fox is) very talkative, though… 😉 Have a great day!

    Like

  5. Thank you so much for your kind words! I still can’t believe that people like what I’m doing. My son? Ok. But others? 😉 Have a good night!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hahaha! 🙂 What is it about foxes that we love so much? I’m glad you like the shirt! Thanks for stopping by and leaving your sweet comment. Have a great weekend

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You are welcome. It is actually easy. Please go ahead and try it out. I would love to see your version of Mr. Fox. 🙂 Have an enjoyable weekend.

    Like

  8. Awesome shirt! I like how you show (in photos) your steps to make it easy to read and follow, if someone wanted to re-create this look.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thank you very much, Janice!!! It’s my personal goal to publish almost everything in tutorial form. I really want to inspire others and make them think: “Oh my, that looks easy. Let’s give it a try.” 😉 What is your motivation or driving force? Have a lovely day, Jana

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you very much for stopping by and for your sweet comment! Hello to you and your ginger fluffy friend back! 🙂 I’m glad we are in contact now! Following you, too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

